11 candidates backed by PML-N win Senate seats from Punjab

11 candidates backed by PML-N win Senate seats from Punjab

Lahore (Staff Report): At least 11 candidates backed by the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) have been elected on seats from Punjab, say unofficial and provisional results.

Polling for 52 seats of the Senate held on Saturday.

According to initial results, out of 12 Punjab Senate seats PML-N won 11 seats from the Punjab Assembly.

The independent candidates backed by PML-N have won seven general seats from Punjab Assembly. The party's candidates have also won all the technocrat, women and minorities seats from the province as well.

Former finance minister Ishaq Dar also won the Senate technocrat seat from Punjab Assembly. Other successful PML-N back candidates include Dr Asif Kirmani, Nuzhat Sadiq, Saadia Abbasi, Haroon Khan, Shaheen Khalid Butt.

Twenty-three PML-N candidates are contesting elections as independents after a Supreme Court verdict nullified all decisions taken by former PML-N head Nawaz Sharif, including issuance of party tickets.

Meanwhile, four independent candidates have been elected to the Senate from FATA.

A total of 133 candidates are vying for Senate seats in the elections.