Imran Khan nominates Abdul Qayyum Niazi for AJK PM slot

Imran Khan nominates Abdul Qayyum Niazi for AJK PM slot

Islamabad (Web Desk): Prime Minister Imran Khan has nominated Abdul Qayyum Niazi for the slot of Prime Minister of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK).

This was confirmed by Minister for Information and Broadcasting Fawad Chaudhry in a tweet on Wednesday.

“The name was finalised after detailed consultations and keeping in view the proposals,” the minister said.

Fawad Chaudhry said that Abdul Qayyum Niazi is a genuine and vibrant political worker, whose heart beats with workers.

The AJK Legislative Assembly is all set to meet today to elect its prime minister. The voting for the PM’s election will start at 2:00pm.

On Tuesday Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominees Anwar-ul-Haq and Riaz Gujjar were elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the AJK Legislative Assembly.

During the session, Anwar-ul-Haq grabbed 32 votes and defeated opposition parties’ Faisal Rathore on speaker position. PTI’s Chaudhry Riaz Gujjar got 32 votes for deputy speaker post while Nisara Abbasi of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) got 15 votes.

Outgoing speaker Shah Ghulam Qadir also administered the oath to the newly-elected members of the assembly.

It is pertinent to mention that the PTI emerged as the largest political party in the AJK Legislative Assembly elections held on July 25.

The PTI won 25 seats and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) got 11 seats while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) secured six seats.

Muslim Conference and Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Party (JKPP) have secured one seat each.