Govt announces public holidays for year 2019

Govt announces public holidays for year 2019

Islamabad (Staff Report): The federal government on Monday released the list of public holidays for year 2019.

According to a notification issued by the Interior Ministry, a total of 14 public holidays — Kashmir Day, Pakistan Day, Labour Day, Eidul Fitr, Eidul Azha, Independence Day, Ashura, Eid Miladun Nabi (PBUH) and Quaid-e-Azam Day — has been announced.

 “In case of Muslim festivals, the dates of holidays are based on anticipated dates and are subject to appearance of moon for which a separate notification will be issued by the Ministry of Interior,” the notification read.

In addition to the 14 public holidays there will be three bank holidays. Banks will be closed for public on January 1, May 7 and July 1, however, they will be open for employees.

The government also listed 23 optional holidays, including New Years, Basant, Shiv Ratri, Holi, Dulhandi, Shab-e-Mairaj, Good Friday, Easter, Nauroze, for government officials. "Government officials desiring to avail optional holidays shall take prior permission of the head of office concerned and no government servant, who is Muslim, shall be granted more than one optional holiday. Non-Muslims can be granted three optional holidays in Calendar Year 2018-19," the notification added.