First Test: Pakistan win toss, bat first against Australia 

First Test: Pakistan win toss, bat first against Australia 

Rawalpindi (Web Desk): Pakistan won the toss and opted to bat first against Australia in the first Test at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on Friday.

Pakistan openers Abdullah Shafique and Imamul Haq started strong with no loss of any wicket in the first two hours and posting 71 runs in 22 overs.

Pakistan entered the game with two frontline fast bowlers in Shaheen Shah Afridi and Naseem Shah, and two regular spinners Nauman Ali and Sajid Khan.

On the other hand, Australia are playing just one spinner in Nathan Lyon with all three frontline fast bowlers, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and skipper Pat Cummins, to start.

The touring team also retained all-rounder Cameron Green, who was not even born when Australia last toured Pakistan.

Australia players wore black armbands in memory of former wicketkeeper Rod Marsh who died aged 74 on Friday.

The two sides have played 25 Test series with visiting team winning 13 and Pakistan winning seven.

Australia are in Pakistan for the first time in 24 years, having refused to tour since 1998 over security fears.

The second Test match in Karachi will be played from March 12to 16 and the third in Lahore from March 21 to 25.

Welcoming the Australian team, Faisal said that Pakistanis are eager to witness the matches that will be played between the two teams.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Zahid Mahmood, Naseem Shah

Australia: Pat Cummins (captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Mark Steketee, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner