PML-N defeats PPP in NA-133 Lahore by-election

PML-N defeats PPP in NA-133 Lahore by-election

Lahore (Web Desk): Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Shaista Pervaiz Malik defeated Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Aslam Gill in the by-election in Lahore’s the NA-133 on Sunday.

According to unofficial results, Shaista Malik deafeted Aslam Gill by 14,498 votes as PML-N bagged 46,811 votes while PPP received 32,313.

The PML-N has won the seat for the fourth time since 2008, although by a smaller margin this time around as compared to the 2018 elections.

Shaista has succeeded her late husband Malik Pervaiz whose death left the NA-133 seat vacant.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had already been knocked out of the contest on technical grounds.

A total of 254 polling stations were set up for 440,085 registered voters – 233,558 male and 206,927 female. Of them, 22 polling stations were in the A category, 198 in B and 34 in C.

There were 200 separate polling stations for men and women. Besides, 54 mixed polling stations were also set up.

Keeping in view the Covid-19 pandemic, standard operating procedures (SOPs) were followed strictly at all polling stations.

The polling process largely remained peaceful except some minor scuffles between PML-N and PPP activists in Maryam Colony and Kot Lakhpat.

The PML-N and PPP had arranged transport to bring their voters from their homes.

Both parties had also offered food to their voters, activists and supporters during polling.

However, as the results started pouring in, huge celebrations were seen at the PML-N Secretariat.

PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif dedicated the victory to the late Malik, describing him as a "thorough gentleman, dedicated public servant and great companion of (party supremo) Nawaz Sharif". "Grateful to NA 133 for their unwavering trust," he added.

In a tweet, party’s vice president Maryam Nawaz wrote a victory message in Punjabi, saying: "Once more....the lion (wins). Alhamdulillah."

On the other hand, PPP President Punjab Raja Pervez Ashraf, in a message to the people of the constituency on the occasion, said: "Allah has given NA-133 voters a chance to decide their own destiny".

"PPP is the only party that can alleviate the sufferings of the people,"  Ashraf said. "Only PPP can end inflation, unemployment, lawlessness, uncertainty," he added.

National Assembly’s NA-133 constituency mostly comprises of lower- and middle-income group neighbourhoods, including Liaquatabad, Model Town Ext (Q, R and S Blocks), Pindi Rajputan, Ismail Nagar, Kot Lakhpat, Chungi Amar Sadhu, Teharta Pind, Bagrian, Green Town, Township, Maryam Colony, Sitara Colony, Farid Colony, Model Colony, Bahar Colony, Ittefaq Factory, Peco Road, Wafaqi Colony and Johar Town.

Amid the campaigning, the war for votes between PML-N and PPP had gone beyond the constituency to social media, where a viral clip appears to show voters being bribed by party members. Women voters were allegedly paid for their votes and an oath was taken from them.

Both parties had also exchanged barbs and blamed each other's workers for the alleged move to malign.