Opposition submits resolution against Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani

Opposition submits resolution against Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani

Islamabad (Web Desk): The opposition members submitted a resolution against Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani to Senate Secretary on Tuesday (today).

According to details, the 11-member opposition's anti-government Rahbar Committee had announced consensus to remove the chairman Senate.

The resolution was submitted to the Senate Secretariat after the signatures of 44 senators.

The next meeting of the Rahbar committee will be held on July 11, where it will likely announce the name of joint candidate for the post of Chairman Senate.

On July 6, the Rahber committee formed by an alliance of nine opposition parties and held its first meeting in Islamabad.

According to sources, the Rahbar Committee gave approval to elect a new Senate chairman from the party with the majority, the Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N).

They added that the the PML-N is mulling over the names of Raja Zafarul Haq and Musadik Malik along with two others for the post of Senate chairman.

The sources further said PML-N will leave the position of opposition leader after the chairmanship of Senate.

The Rahbar Committee during its meeting also mulled over the name of the new opposition leader in Senate.

Meanwhile, Deputy Senate Chairman Saleem Mandviwalla will continue with his post, sources added.

A majority of 53 votes is required to remove the Senate chairman. Currently, the PPP, PML-N, National Party and Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (JUI-F) have 46 members, while there are 29 independents. The Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) has two members, while the Awami National Party (ANP), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) and PML-Functional have one member each.

The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has 14 members, Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) five and Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) has two senators.