Islamabad (Staff Report): The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) on Friday nominated Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar for Punjab governorship and Asad Qaiser for the post of the National Assembly speaker.

Ch Sarwar has previously served as the Punjab governor , while Qaiser formerly held the post of the speaker of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly as well.

The announcement was made by PTI Vice President Shah Mahmood Qureshi in a press conference.

Meanwhile, President Mamnoon Hussain has summoned a session of the National Assembly on August 13 during which newly-elected members will take oath of their office. Elections for the speaker, deputy speaker and the leader of the House will take place after the MNAs-elect take oath.

The PTI secured 116 general seats in the National Assembly in July 25 polls, is set to become the country’s next prime minister.

On the other hand, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has accepted Khan’s apology over violating the electoral code of conduct by casting his vote publicly.

The commission also ordered issuance of notification for Imran’s victory in NA-53 Islamabad constituency, where he stamped the ballot paper publicly instead of going behind the voting screen to cast his vote in secrecy.

A written reply and an affidavit were submitted by the PTI chief earlier in the day during a hearing held by a four-member bench that was headed by Chief Election Commissioner Sardar Muhammad Raza.

The commission had sought a signed apology from Imran and also rejected the response submitted by his counsel Babar Awan a day earlier.

According to the PTI chief’s counsel, his client did not intentionally stamp his ballot publicly. The reply stated that photos of Imran's ballot were taken without his permission, while the curtain, used around the ballot for secrecy, had fallen due to crowd inside the polling booth.