Shehbaz Sharif takes oath as 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Shehbaz Sharif takes oath as 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Islamabad (Web Desk): Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif took oath as the 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan on Monday.

Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani administered the oath to Shehbaz at a ceremony held at the Aiwan-e-Sadr (the President House) in Islamabad in President Dr Arif Alvi’s absence, who went on 'sick' leave ahead of the inauguration of the newly elected premier.

Major political leaders including Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) Chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman PML-N leaders including Maryam Nawaz, Hamza Shehbaz, Ahsan Iqbal, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Rana Sanaullah among others were present in the oath-taking ceremony.

Earlier in the day, the National Assembly (NA) elected Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President and joint opposition's candidate Shehbaz Sharif as the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

The newly elected premier received 174 votes.

During the session, PTI MNAs and NA Deputy speaker Assembly (NAboycotting the election for the next prime minister of Pakistan.

The move came after Shah Mahmood Qureshi, who was the party's candidate for the top slot, announced that PTI lawmakers would be resigning en masse from the NA.

The session continued with MNA Ayaz Sadiq in the chair who announced voting for the election of new premier.

The development comes after Imran Khan was voted out from the office through no-confidence motion on Saturday night.

The National Assembly passed the no-confidence resolution against Imran Khan as 174 MNAs out of 342-member house recorded their votes in favour of the no-trust motion against him.