AJK high court disqualifies PM Tanveer Ilyas for contempt

AJK high court disqualifies PM Tanveer Ilyas for contempt

Muzaffarabad (Web Desk): Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) High Court on Tuesday disqualified Prime Minister of Azad Kashmir Sardar Tanveer Ilyas for contempt of court.

According to details, after a brief hearing of a contempt notice, the full court bench awarded imprisonment till the rising of the court, consequently disqualifying Sardar Tanveer Iliyas as premier and as a member of the legislative assembly.

Earlier, Sardar Tanveer Iliyas appeared before a full bench of the high court on a contempt notice and surrendered an unconditional apology for his contemptuous speech but the court announced the brief order disqualifying him from the office.

He then proceeded to AJK Supreme Court to appear which had also summoned him.

On Monday, the superior courts of AJK had separately served notices Ilyas to explain his position with regard to his “derogatory remarks about the superior judiciary in his speeches at public meetings”.

The high court registrar was directed to issue a notice to the AJK prime minister through his principal secretary to appear in person before the court on Tuesday (today) at 10:30am. and explain his position. The registrar was also directed to fix the matter before full bench.

Sardar Tanveer Iliyas had criticized the stay orders issue by the courts and said the practice was affecting the performance of government.

"The stay orders were temporary order that must be decided within days but they lingered for years," he had stated.

Affiliated with Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Sardar Tanveer Ilyas served as AJK's premier for less than a year. He was elected unopposed as the 14th prime minister of the region on April 18, 2022.

After the resignation of Abdul Qayyum Khan Niazi as AJK premier, Ilyas had submitted nomination papers on behalf of PTI which were declared valid by the secretary assembly.

Ilyas was nominated by PTI Chairman Imran Khan as the party’s candidate for prime minister’s office while the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and the Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) had jointly fielded Chaudhry Yasin.

The united opposition boycotted the session for the election of the prime minister, leaving no candidate in the race against Ilyas wherein he received 33 votes in his favour.