PSL-7: Multan Sultans beat Peshawar Zalmi by 42 runs

PSL-7: Multan Sultans beat Peshawar Zalmi by 42 runs

Lahore (Web Desk): Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 42 runs at the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore as the second phase of the 7th edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) started on Thursday.

Peshawar Zalmi won the toss and opted to field first.

Multan Sultans scored 182 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs.

In reply Peshawar Zalmi were all out 140 runs in 19.3 overs.

Peshawar bowlers Wahab Riaz, Salman Irshad and Saqib Mahmood took two wickets each.
Sultans’ Muzarabani and Khushdil Shah took three wickets each. Shahnawaz Dhani also bagged two important wickets.

Defending champions Multan Sultans have become the first team to qualify for the play-offs in the ongoing seventh edition of the PSL.
Mohammad Rizwan-led Sultans has beaten all the other teams — Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi, and Islamabad United — in the PSL 2022.
Scores in brief:
Multan Sultans 182 for 7, 20 overs (Shan Masood 68, Tim David 34, Mohammad Rizwan 34; Wahab Riaz 2-34, Salman Irshad 2-34)
Peshawar Zalmi 140 all out, 19.3 overs (Shoaib Malik 44, Liam Livingstone 24; Blessing Muzarabani 3-18, Khushdil Shah 3-26)

Playing XIs
Multan Sultans: Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (c)(wk), Sohaib Maqsood, Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Abbas Afridi, Imran Tahir, Blessing Muzarabani, Shahnawaz Dahani

Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal (wk), Ben Cutting, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Liam Livingstone, Hussain Talat, Sherfane Rutherford, Wahab Riaz (c), Saqib Mahmood, Mohammad Umar, Salman Irshad