Lahore (Staff Report): Pakistan defeated World Xl by 20 runs in the premier match of the Independence Cup series played on Tuesday in Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium.

World XI skipper Faf du Plessis won the toss and opted to field first. 

Pakistan secured 197-5 runs.

A strict security plan has been devised to safeguard the players.

Around 6,000 police officials including 19 police SPs and 45 DSPs will perform duties. At all entry points, the officials will check the national identity cards and tickets of the people and will allow them to enter after proper clearance. Besides the police, troops of other law enforcement agencies will also be deployed.



Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf , Hasan Ali, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees, Usman Khan, Sohail Khan.

World XI

David Miller, Morne Morkel, Tim Paine, Thisara Perera, Imran Tahir, Darren Sammy, Hashim Amla, Grant Elliott, Samuel Badree, George Bailey, Tamim Iqbal, Paul Collingwood, Ben Cutting, Faf du Plessis (C).