Chief secretaries, IGPs of all four provinces transferred

Chief secretaries, IGPs of all four provinces transferred

Islamabad (Staff Report): The interim government has appointed new chief secretaries and police chiefs of all four provinces ahead of 2018 general elections.

The decision was made at a special meeting of the cabinet chaired by caretaker Prime Minister Justice retired Nasir-ul-Mulk here on Wednesday.

According to a notification, Akhtar Nazir Warraich has been appointed as Chief Secretary Balochistan, Naveed Kamran Baloch as Chief Secretary KP, Azam Salman as Chief Secretary Sindh, and Akbar Durrani as Chief Secretary Punjab.

Inspector General of Police in all the four provinces has also been changed to ensure free and transparent elections.

Dr. Kaleem Imam has been designated as IG Punjab Police, while Amjad Jave Saleemi will take charge in Sindh. Mohammd Tahir and Mohsin Hasan Butt have been appointed in KP and Balochistan respectively.

On Tuesday, Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) directed establishment division to appoint new provincial chief secretaries and inspector general’s (IGs) of all four provinces with immediate effect.