Islamabad (Staff Report/Agencies): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has finalised arrangements for the smooth conduct of the by-polls in 35 constituencies.

The by elections will be held on Sunday in 11 National Assembly and 24 Provincial Assemblies' seats.

The seats on which the candidates will compete include 11 from National Assembly, 11 from Punjab Assembly, nine from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and two each from Sindh and Balochistan.

According to ECP , the polling will begin at 8am and will continue till 5pm without any break.

Over 9.9 million ballot papers have been printed for the by-polls. The ballot papers have been handed over to the presiding officers which were distributed under the supervision of the Pakistan Army.

More than 7,400 polling stations have been set up for the by polls. Of these, 1727 have been categorized as highly sensitive.

Overseas Pakistanis will vote for the first time in the by-polls.

Some prominent politician have also been fielded by their respective parties to contest the by-polls.

Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is candidate of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) from Lahore’s NA-124 against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Ghulam Mohiuddin.

In Lahore's NA-131 constituency, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Khawaja Saad Rafique will face Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's (PTI) Humayun Akhtar.

In Karachi's NA-243 constituency, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) is likely to give tough competition to PTI.

On the day of the by-polls, the teams constituted by ECP , will also monitor security arrangements, the result transmission system (RTS) and votes of the overseas Pakistanis.