Tri-series: Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 7 wickets

Tri-series: Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 7 wickets

Christchurch (Web Desk): Pakistan defeated Bangladesh by seven wickets in the tri-series T20 match at Christchurch on Thursday.

Batting first, Bangladesh scored 173 runs for the loss of six wickets in allotted 20 overs.

Litton Das, who brushed off an early leg strain to put in a gutsy performance, and captain Shakib Al Hasan both chalked up half-centuries for Bangladesh.

In reply, Pakistan achieved the target in the 19.5 overs for the loss of three wickets.

Pakistan openers Rizwan and Babar Azam put on a partnership of 101.

After reaching 55 runs off 40 balls, Azam was finally caught in the 12th over. Then Haider Ali immediately went for a duck, clean bowled by Hasan Mahmud.

At 101-2, Pakistan were under pressure. But Nawaz wrestled the match away from Bangladesh with a stunning four, then a six and another four off three consecutive balls in the 15th over.

Bangladesh took the game to the wire when Rizwan was finally caught at deep cover.

However, Nawaz kept his cool to see Pakistan home.

Pakistan face hosts New Zealand in Friday's final while Bangladesh finish on four straight defeats in the tri-series, a warm-up event ahead of the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia.

Playing XI

Pakistan: Babar Azam (C), Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Haider Ali, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Hasnain

Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib al Hasan (C), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Yasir Ali, Mohammad Saifuddin,Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam