Islamabad (Staff Report): The Supreme Court on Wednesday reserved verdict in the case related to determination of time duration of disqualification under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution.

A five-member bench of the apex court ─ headed by Chief Justice Saqib Nisar and comprising Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed, Justice Umar Ata Bandial, Justice Ijazul Ahsan and Justice Sajjad Ali Shah ─ heard all 17 appeals against the disqualification of lawmakers.

Attorney General (AG) for Pakistan Ashtar Ausaf Ali while giving arguments said no duration of disqualification is given in the Constitution. He stated that it is parliament which can determine the time duration.

The verdict was reserved after Attorney General Ashtar Ausaf completed his arguments.

Article 62(1)(f), which sets the precondition for a member of parliament to be "sadiq and ameen" (honest and righteous), is the same provision under which Nawaz Sharif and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) leader Jahangir Tareen was disqualified.