By-elections: Polling for in 35 constituencies underway

By-elections: Polling for in 35 constituencies underway

Islamabad/Lahore (Staff Report/Agencies): Polling for the by-elections on thirty five constituencies of the National and Provincial Assemblies across the country is underway.

The polling was started at 8am and will continue till 5pm without any break.

Over 9.9 million ballot papers have been printed for the by-polls. The ballot papers have been handed over to the presiding officers, which were distributed under the supervision of the Pakistan Army.

More than 7,400 polling stations have been set up for the by polls. Of these, 1727 have been categorized as highly sensitive.

Overseas Pakistanis will vote for the first time in the by-polls.

Some prominent politician have also been fielded by their respective parties to contest the by-polls.

Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is candidate of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) from Lahore’s NA-124 against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Ghulam Mohiuddin.

In Lahore's NA-131 constituency, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Khawaja Saad Rafique will face Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's (PTI) Humayun Akhtar.

In Karachi's NA-243 constituency, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) is likely to give tough competition to PTI.

On the day of the by-polls, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) established a central control room at its headquarters.

According to an official of ECP, the control room will remain functional till completion of election results while a separate complaint cell has also been established at ECP to receive complaints related with the bye-polls.

He said that there is a facilitation/result receiving centre at ECP. The centre will work round the clock with day and night shifts.

He said that the commission has asked the media to avoid releasing unofficial results before 6:00pm on Sunday respecting the order of the Lahore High Court.