Islamabad (Staff Report): In the country the first phase of the sixth population census which commenced on March 15, concluded in 63 districts across the country today (Saturday).

According to official sources, Pakistan government conducted the first phase in 16 districts of Punjab, 8 districts of Sindh, 15 districts of Balochistan, 14 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, five districts of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, and five districts of Gilgit-Baltistan.

The first phase of the Census in Punjab covered the cities included Jhang, Faisalabad, Chiniot, Toba Tek Singh, Rajanpur,  Dera Ghazi Khan, Layyah, Muzaffargarh, Lahore, Hafizabad, Narrowal, Sialkot, Vehari, Bahawalpur, Pakpattan, and Attock.

Data collection process was carried out in districts Karachi West, Karachi South, Karachi East Korangi, Karachi Central, and Malir in Sindh. Cities included in the process were Hyderabad and Ghotki.