Peshawar (Staff Report): Mushtaq Ghani of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) was elected as Speaker of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Assembly on Wednesday.

Mushtaq Ghani received 81 votes while his opponent Laiq Mohammad Khan received 27 votes out of a total 108 votes polled.

Earlier, Voting for the election of Speaker started in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly this morning. Senior parliamentarian, Sardar Aurangzeb Nalotha presided over the provincial assembly session.

Mushtaq Ahmed Ghani of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Laiq Ahmed Khan of Awami National Party (ANP) were in the run for the office.

Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) enjoys majority as it had gained 84 seats in the house and is in a comfortable position to form the government.

Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal is the second largest party with a strength of 13 lawmakers.

Meanwhile, the newly-elected MPAs took oath of their office during the inaugural session of Punjab Assembly on Wednesday.

Outgoing Speaker Punjab Assembly Rana Muhammad Iqbal administered the oath to the newly elected members of the Punjab Assembly.

The elections for the slots of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Punjab Assembly will take place on August 16, after which the new chief minister will be elected through secret balloting.