By-elections: PTI, PML-N secure 4 NA seats each, PML-Q grabs 2 seats

By-elections: PTI, PML-N secure 4 NA seats each, PML-Q grabs 2 seats

Lahore (Staff Report/Agencies): Unofficial and unverified results show the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) secured four seats of the National Assembly each in the by-elections held on Sunday across the the country for 35 national and provincial assemblies’ seats.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q) managed to bag two seats that were vacated by Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, while the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) secured the NA-35 constituency in Bannu.

Unofficial results:

11 National Assembly seats

PTI: 4     PML-N: 4    PML-Q: 2       MMA: 1

NA-35: MMA’s Zahid Akram is leading with 51,144 votes, followed by PTI’s Naseem Ali Shah with 32,033 votes.

NA-56: PML-N’s Malik Sohail Khan leads with 112,032 votes compared to PTI’s Malik Khurram Ali’s 77,641.

NA-53: Ali Nawaz Awan of PTI is leading with 40,907 against PML-N’s  Waqar Ahmed who has secured 25,170 so far.

NA-60: PTI’s Rashid Shafique is leading with 36,035 followed by PML-N candidate Malik Sajjad Khan who has secured 35,792 votes so far.

NA-63: Mansoor Hayat Khan of PTI wins the Taxila seat, beating PML-N’s Aqeel Malik.

NA-65: PML-Q’s Salik Hussain is leading after securing 98,364 votes against TLP’s Muhammad Yaqoob, who has secured 34,811 so far.

NA-69: PML-Q’s Moonis Elahi leads with 51,201 votes. Elahi is followed by PML-N’s Imran Zafar, who has so far secured 12,020 votes.

NA-103: With 55,757 votes, PML-N’s Ali Gohar Khan is leading against PTI’s  Muhammad Saadullah who has secured 46,539 votes so far.

NA-124: PML-N’s Shahid Khaqan Abbasi secures victory with 75,012 votes, followed by PTI’s Ghulam Mohiuddin, who has so far secured 30,115 votes.

NA-243: PTI’s Alamgir Khan wins after securing 35,727 votes against MQM-P’s Amir Chishti, who got 15,396 votes.

NA-131: PML-N’s Khawaja Saad Rafique leads with 38,721 votes to his credit. PTI’s Hammyun Akhtar Khan follows with 34,182 votes.

In the by-elections on 24 provincial assembly seats – 11 in Punjab, nine in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and two each in Sindh and Balochistan – the PTI was leading in nine constituencies, while the PML-N was ahead in six constituencies.

Provincial seats


In Sindh by-election were held on two provincial assembly seats, PS-30 and PS-87. The PS-30 Khairpur seat was secured by PPP’s Syed Ahmad Raza Shah Jilani by defeating Waliur Rehman of the Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) and others.

PPP’s Sajid Ali Jokhio bagged the PS-87 Malir seat by thrashing PTI’s Quadir Bux Khan Gabol.


As per unofficial results, Akbar Mengal, who was fielded by Balochistan National Party-Mengal and Jamiat Ulema Islam-Fazl jointly, is leading in PB-40-Khuzdar, till filing of this report.

In PB-36 Mastung, former Balochistan chief minister Nawab Aslam Khan Raisani, an independent candidate, was leading with results of around 20 polling stations yet to come.


By-polls were held at 11 provincial assembly seats in Punjab. The PML-N won five and the PTI bagged four, whereas two independent candidates won the other two seats, unofficial results said.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Of the nine provincial assembly seats, where by-elections were held, the PTI is leading with five seats, followed by the Awami National Party (ANP) with three seats and the PML-N in Swat (PK-3) constituency.

The by-elections were held in PK-3 Swat, PK-7 Swat, PK-44 Swabi, PK-53 Mardan, PK-61 Nowshera, PK-64 Nowshera, PK-78 Peshawar, and PK-97 and PK-99 D.I. Khan.

Polling began at 8:00 am (PST) on Sunday morning and continued till 5:00 pm (PST) without any break, under the supervision of Pakistan Army personnel.

Over 100 candidates took part in elections for 35 national and provincial assembly seats, according to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

Polling for the by-elections on thirty five constituencies of the National and Provincial Assemblies across the country ended at 5pm.

The polling was started at 8am and continued till 5pm without any break.

Over 9.9 million ballot papers were printed for the by-polls. The ballot papers handed over to the presiding officers, which were distributed under the supervision of the Pakistan Army.

More than 7,400 polling stations were set up for the by polls. Of these, 1727 categorized as highly sensitive.

Overseas Pakistanis also used their right of vote for the first time in the by-polls.

Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is candidate of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) from Lahore’s NA-124 against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Ghulam Mohiuddin.

In Lahore's NA-131 constituency, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Khawaja Saad Rafique will face Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's (PTI) Humayun Akhtar.

In Karachi's NA-243 constituency, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) is likely to give tough competition to PTI.

On the day of the by-polls, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) established a central control room at its headquarters.

The control room remained functional till completion of election results while a separate complaint cell was also established at ECP to receive complaints related with the bye-polls.