Punjab Assembly votes for Speaker, Deputy Speaker

Punjab Assembly votes for Speaker, Deputy Speaker

Lahore (Staff Report): The members of Punjab Assembly are voting for the slots of Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) chief Pervaiz Elahi for the post of Punjab Assembly speaker while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has fielded Chaudhry Muhammad Iqbal Gujjar.

Dost Muhammad Mazari has been nominated by the PTI for the slot of deputy speaker whereas PML-N has nominated Malik Muhammad Waris Kallu for the post.

On Wednesday, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) stated it will not vote for any party's candidate and will abstain from the voting process for the post of speaker and deputy speaker.

On Wednesday, the newly-elected MPAs took oath of their office during the inaugural session of Punjab Assembly.

Moreover, the Speakers of National as well as Sindh and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assemblies were also elected on Wednesday.