Polling for by-election underway in PS-88, PS-43 and PB-20

Polling for by-election underway in PS-88, PS-43 and PB-20

Karachi (Web Desk): Polling for by-election on provincial assembly constituency PS-88 Malir-II, PS-43 Sanghar-III and PB-20 Pishin III is underway.

According to details, the polling started at 8:00am and will continue till 5:00pm without any interval.

As many as 20 candidates are contesting the PS-88-Karachi by-election while 108 polling stations have been set up in the constituency out of which 36 have been declared sensitive and 33 have been declared most sensitive.

The candidates contesting the election on the seat include Muhammad Yousuf Baloch of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Jansher Junejo of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Sajid Ahmed of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) and Syed Kashif Ali of Tahreek Labbaik Pakistan (TLP).

With 108 polling stations, the constituency has a total of 145,627 registered voters.

In the 2018 General Elections, the seat was hotly contested among four parties, PPP, PTI, MQM and Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP).

In PS-43 Sanghar-III, at least seven candidates are contesting for the vacant Sindh Assembly seat from Sanghar with many observers seeing a close contest between PPP’s Jam Shabbir Ali and PTI’s Mushtaq Junejo.

The constituency has 157,210 voters with 132 polling stations set up to facilitate them in the electoral process. Out of the 132, 37 have been declared extremely sensitive and 34 are sensitive.

In PB-20 Pishin-III, Balochistan, a close contest is expected between the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) and the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) candidates.

There are 113 polling stations out of which three have been declared most sensitive.

At least 27 candidates are vying for the vacant seat in the ongoing by-poll.

Meanwhile, the security has been beefed up to avoid any unfortunate event while the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had also barred to use of mobile phones within polling stations.

It is pertinent to mention that the seats fell vacant last year after the lawmakers elected from the seats passed away due to COVID-19.