World Cup 2019: India beat Pakistan by 89 runs

World Cup 2019: India beat Pakistan by 89 runs

Manchester (Agencies): India defeated Pakistan by 89 runs (DLS) in the 22nd match of the ICC World Cup at Old Trafford on Sunday.

Pakistan won the toss and elected to field first, much to the dismay of cricket fans; the decision apparently proved flawed as India managed to set 337 runs target.

Rohit Sharma scored 140 runs off 113 balls while Virat Kohli contributed 77 off 65 balls. Only Muhammad Aamir resisted the Indian batsmen as he took three wickets for 47 runs.

Pakistan have replaced Shaheen Shah Afridi and Asif Ali with Shadab Khan and Imad Wasim.

India have made one change to their playing XI as injured Shikhar Dhawan with Vijay Shankar.

Pakistan XI: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain and wicketkeeper), Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz, Hassan Ali and Mohammad Amir

India XI: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (captain), Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Kedhar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Jasprit Bumrah