Imran Khan sworn in as PM Pakistan: (VIDEO)

Imran Khan sworn in as PM Pakistan: (VIDEO)

Islamabad (Staff Report): Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairperson Imran Khan on Saturday took oath as prime minister of Pakistan.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath in a ceremony held at President House.

The ceremony commenced with the national anthem followed by a recitation of the Holy Quran.

Guests, including first lady Bushra BB, Army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa, Chief of Air Staff Marshal Mujahid Anwar Khan, former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu, Wasim Akram, actor Javed Sheikh, Punjab governor designate Chaudhry Sarwar, Punjab Assembly speaker Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, Ramiz Raja and PTI leaders attended the ceremony.

On Friday, Khan elected as 22nd prime minister of the country.

Khan secured 176 votes, while Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) President Shahbaz Sharif got 96 votes.

Pakistan Peoples Party abstained from voting process.

Khan’s PTI emerged as the leading party in the July 25 general election, and claimed to be in a comfortable position to elect its chairman as the next prime minister. A simple majority of votes from the total strength of the house is required for the election of prime minister.

After allocation of reserved seats for women and minorities, the PTI remains the majority party in the National Assembly, boasting a total of 151 seats.

While addressing the National Assembly after being elected as leader of the House, Khan said that no National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) will be given to any dacoit, adding that the ones who looted the country would not be spared.

“I am grateful to Almighty Allah and the nation for giving me the opportunity to bring a change which the nation wanted from last 71 years. I promise my nation that I will bring the change which it desperately wanted,” Khan said.