Justice Asif Saeed Khosa takes oath as 26th Chief Justice of Pakistan

Justice Asif Saeed Khosa takes oath as 26th Chief Justice of Pakistan

Islamabad (Staff Report): Justice Asif Saeed Khan Khosa on Friday took oath as the 26th Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) in a ceremony at President House.

President of Pakistan, Dr Arif Alvi administered the oath to Justice Khosa.

Prime Minister Imran Khan, Chief of Army Staff Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa, Chief of the Air Staff Aasim Zaheer, Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Zafar Mahmood Abbasi, Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser, Sindh Governor Imran Ismail, and members of the federal cabinet, all attended the ceremony.

A number of foreign dignitaries also took part in today's ceremony; Chief Justice of India Justice Ranjan Gogoi, President Supreme Court of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus Narin Ferdi Sefik, Chief Judge State of Borno Nigeria Kashim Zannah, former senior puisne judge Supreme Court of India and President Governing Committee of the Commonwealth Judicial Education Institute Justice Madan Bhimarao Lokur, Savita Lokur (spouse), and Sandra E Oxner, former judge and founding president Commonwealth Judicial Education Institute, Canada.

Justice Asif Saeed Khosa, who was born on December 21, 1954, in Dera Ghazi Khan will serve as the topmost judge for almost eleven months to retire on December 20 this year.