Nomination papers of Bilawal, Shehbaz and Ayaz Sadiq accepted

Nomination papers of Bilawal, Shehbaz and Ayaz Sadiq accepted

Karachi/Lahore (Staff Report/Agencies): The nomination papers of Pakistan Peoples Party Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif and former speaker Ayaz Sadiq were approved by returning officers (RO) on Tuesday.

Bilawal's nominations papers for NA-246 (Karachi) have been accepted.

Meanwhile, nomination papers of Shehbaz and his son, Hamza Shehbaz, have been accepted for NA-132 (Lahore) as former Punjab chief minister’s son, Hamza, will also contest from the same constituency and will also run from NA-124 against PTI’s Mansha Sindhu.

The verdict on Shehbaz’s nomination was earlier reserved by an RO on June 14.

Sadiq will be contesting from NA-133 while Shehbaz will contest from NA-132 in Lahore.

PML-N stalwart Khawaja Saad Rafique’s nomination papers were also cleared by the RO.

Moreover, PML-N leader Maryam Nawaz's candidacy for PP-173 has been approved.

On the other hand, former president General (retd) Pervez Musharraf’s nomination papers from NA-1 Chitral were rejected after the Supreme Court (SC) withdrew the conditional permission granted to him for running the elections.

The apex court had urged Musharraf to appear for the hearing of his disqualification case, however, the former president proved to be a no-show and subsequently, was removed from the list of approved candidates.