PML-N, PPP lawmakers submit no-trust motion against Punjab CM Parvez Elahi

PML-N, PPP lawmakers submit no-trust motion against Punjab CM Parvez Elahi

Lahore (Web Desk): Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) lawmakers on Monday submitted a no-confidence motion against Punjab Chief Minister Chaudhry Parvez Elahi.

According to details, opposition lawmakers, including PPP Parliamentary Leader Hassan Murtaza, PML-N’s Khawaja Imran Nazir, Chief Whip of PML-N Khalil Tahir Sindhu, and others reached the Punjab Assembly Secretariat and submitted the no-trust motion against the chief minister.

A separate no-trust motion was also submitted against PA Speaker Sibtain Khan and Deputy Speaker Wasiq Abbasi under Article 53 of the Constitution.

Punjab Assembly Secretary Inayatullah Lak formally received it.

The development comes just days before Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's (PTI) decison to dissolve the provincial assembly.

On Saturday, PTI Chairman and former premier Imrasn Khan announced that Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa assemblies will be dissolved on December 23.

As per the law, the chief minister cannot dissolve the assembly if a no-confidence motion has been moved against him, while the governor’s requirement for the CM to seek a vote of confidence from the house means he has to ensure that he manages to secure 186 votes on Wednesday.

The PTI has 177 while the PML-Q has 10 members in the Punjab Assembly. On the other hand, the opposition boasts a combined 176 members from the PML-N, PPP and Rah-i-Haq parties.

Meanwhile, Punjab Governor Baligh-ur-Rehman has convene the crucial meeting of the provincial assembly on December 21 (Wednesday).

According to a notification issued late on Monday night, the governor has summoned session of the Punjab Assembly on Wednesday at 4pm, and has required the chief minister to obtain a vote of confidence in terms of Article 130(7) of the Constitution.