'PM Office receives CJCSC, Army chief’s appointment summary'

'PM Office receives CJCSC, Army chief’s appointment summary'

Islamabad (Web Desk): Defence Minister Khawaja Asif has confirmed that the PM office received a summary regarding the appointment of new Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee (CJCSC) and Chief of Army Staff (COAS).

“The Prime Minister’s Office has received the summary from the Ministry of Defence and the process will be completed soon”, the minister tweeted.

Earlier, the ISPR chief also confirmed that summary regarding appointment of CJCSC and COAS has been sent from General Headquarters to Ministry of Defence.

The statement read that the summary includes names of six most senior Lieutenant Generals.

According to sources, the summary includes the names of Lieutenant General Asim Munir, Lieutenant General Sahir Shamshad Mirza, Lieutenant General Azhar Abbas, Lieutenant General Nauman Mehmood, Lieutenant General Faiz Hamid and Lieutenant General Mohammad Amir as candidates for the army chief and chairman joint chiefs of staff committee posts