Shaukat Tarin takes oath as Senator

Shaukat Tarin takes oath as Senator

Islamabad (Web Desk): Adviser to the Prime Minister on Finance and Revenue Shaukat Fayyaz Ahmed Tarin took oath as Senator on Friday.

According to details, Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani administered the oath to Tarin who won the by-election for a general seat in the Senate from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on Friday.

122 members of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly cast their votes.

The finance adviser secured 87 votes while Shaukat Jamal Ameerzada of the Awami National Party (ANP) and Zahir Shah of the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) secured 13 votes each.

Pakistan Peoples Party PPP's Mohammad Saeed did not manage to secure a single vote.

The senate seat was vacated after resignation of Muhammad Ayub Afridi.

As per the rules, when a seat falls vacant, the Election Commission of Pakistan is bound to hold elections on it within 30 days.

It should be noted that to get elected, a candidate needs more than 50% votes of the 145 members.

The Pakistan Tehreek-eInsaf (PTI) has 94 members in the provincial assembly, the Jamiat JUI-F has 15, ANP 12, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) 7, PPP 5, the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) 4, Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) 3, and the Pakistan Muslim League Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q) has one member.