PTI’s Shah Mahmood Qureshi wins from NA-156 Multan: unofficial result

PTI’s Shah Mahmood Qureshi wins from NA-156 Multan: unofficial result

Multan (Staff Report): PTI’s Shah Mahmood Qureshi won from NA-156 (Multan-3) by securing 93497 votes, whereas his opponent PML-N’s Amir Saeed Ansari got 73529 votes.

The polling started at 8am and ended at 6pm.

Over 12,570 candidates are in the run for seats of National and four provincial assemblies.

Against the National Assembly's seats, about 3,675 candidates are in the electoral race whereas about 8,895 for the provincial legislatures of all four provinces.

According to the data shared by the ECP, 1,696 candidates are vying for the National Assembly's constituencies from Punjab and 4,242 for the provincial legislature.

From Sindh, 872 are contesting for the National Assembly seats and 2,382 for the provincial assembly.

Total contesting candidates for the National Assembly from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are 760 and 1,264 for the provincial assembly.

For Balochistan’s National Assembly seats, there are a total of 303 candidates and 1,007 for its provincial assembly seats.

In Islamabad, 76 candidates are in the race for three seats of National Assembly.

According to the electoral rolls, 105.96 million voters were eligible to cast the vote.

In all, 85,307 polling stations were set up across the country.

A public holiday was also observed on the polling day.

According to an ECP official, 5,878 of the polling stations were declared as highly sensitive were from Sindh province, 5,487 from Punjab and Islamabad, 3,874 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and FATA, and 1,768 from Balochistan.

The official said a total of 85,307 polling stations were set up in all the four provinces, FATA and the federal capital. 47,813 of the polling stations were in Punjab, 17,747 in Sindh, 12,634 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 4,420 in Balochistan, 797 in the federal capital and 1,896 in FATA.