Ch Nisar wins PP-10 Rawalpindi-V seat

Ch Nisar wins PP-10 Rawalpindi-V seat

Islamabad (Staff Report): Former interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan has won election from Punjab constituency PP-10, Rawalpindi-V.

According to unofficial results, Nisar secured 53,145 votes, while another independent candidate Naseer ul Hasnain Shah stood second by securing 22,253 votes.

Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) candidate Naveed Sultana grabbed third position by getting 19,247 votes.

Voter turnout was recorded at 61.04 percent.

According to sources, results so far received by Result Transmission System of the election commission indicate that PTI is leading in 117 constituencies of the National Assembly.

The results show that Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is leading in 60 constituencies and PPP in 40 constituencies of the National Assembly.

Moreover, PML-N is leading in 129 constituencies of Punjab Assembly, PTI 122 and independent candidates in 31 constituencies.

On Sindh Assembly seats, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) is leading in 76 constituencies followed by PTI 21 and MQM (P) 17.

In Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is leading in 64 constituencies of KPK followed by ANP in ten and MMA in eight.

Balochistan Awami Party is leading in 12 constituencies, Balochistan National Party in nine and MMA in eight constituencies.

General elections were held across the country on July 25.

Over 12,570 candidates were in the run for seats of National and four provincial assemblies.

Against the National Assembly's seats, about 3,675 candidates were in the electoral race whereas about 8,895 for the provincial legislatures of all four provinces.

According to the data shared by the ECP, 1,696 candidates are vying for the National Assembly's constituencies from Punjab and 4,242 for the provincial legislature.

From Sindh, 872 were contesting for the National Assembly seats and 2,382 for the provincial assembly.

Total contesting candidates for the National Assembly from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are 760 and 1,264 for the provincial assembly.

For Baluchistan’s National Assembly seats, there were a total of 303 candidates and 1,007 for its provincial assembly seats.

In Islamabad, 76 candidates are in the race for three seats of National Assembly.

According to the electoral rolls, 105.96 million voters were eligible to cast the vote.