Yousuf Raza Gillani becomes Opposition leader in Senate

yousuf, raza, gillani, senate, opposition, leader, neo tv

Islamabad (Staff Report/Agencies): Former prime minister Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani has been declared as Opposition Leader in the Upper House of Parliament, says a notification issued by the Senate Secretariat.

Earlier the day, PPP leader filed an application with signatures from a total of 30 senators – 21 from the PPP, two from the Awami National Party, one from the Jamaat-i-Islami, two from members belonging to Fata and four from the independent group of Dilawar Khan in the Senate.

On Wednesday, the Islamabad High Court (IHC) dismissed Gillani’s petition challenging the results of Senate chairman election.

IHC Chief Justice Athar Minallah issued a 13-page verdict on Gillani’s petition.

In his judgement, the bench clarified that the court does not interfere in the workings of the Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament)”.

The court also expressed the hope that political parties and lawmakers will resolve their matters with each other without involving the judiciary.

On March 12, the ruling PTI-backed candidates Sadiq Sanjrani was re-elected as Senate chairman, by defeating Gillani, a joint candidate of the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) – an opposition parties’ alliance.