Six members of Pakistan cricket squad in New Zealand test positive for COVID-19

Six members of Pakistan cricket squad in New Zealand test positive for COVID-19

Christchurch (Web Desk): Six members of Pakistan cricket squad touring New Zealand were tested positive for COVID-19 on Thursday.

According to New Zealand Cricket Board, the players, who tested positive for the virus, would be moved into strict quarantine.

"Squad’s exemption to train while in managed isolation has been put on hold until investigations have been completed," the board said.

New Zealand’s ministry of health said 53 team members passed a symptom check before leaving Lahore and were tested on arrival in Christchurch on November 24.

Six of those results have come back positive, although two of the six cases are believed to be “historical”, it added.

It is pertinent to mention that the squad had tested negative four times before leaving Lahore.

New Zealand Health said the players will now “be tested a minimum of four times while in managed isolation” and the entire squad would be confined to their rooms.

“Several team members have been seen on CCTV at the facility breaching managed isolation rules, despite clear, consistent and detailed communication of expected behaviours”, the New Zealand Health revealed.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) tasked national cricket team head coach Misbah-ul-Haq and manager Mansoor Rana to keep players under surveillance following the COVID-19 protocol breach in New Zealand.

As per the reports, PCB Chief Executive Wasim Khan has summoned details of players who committed violations.

 “If any individual is found involved in any irresponsible activity, he will be called back to Pakistan,” he said while giving final warning to the players.

In his video message, Wasim Khan urged the players to not only take care of their own health, but to also protect the national pride.

Pakistan will play two Tests and three T20s. The team will also play two four-day and three T20 matches against New Zealand ‘A’.

The T20 series will commence from Dec 18 and the Test series will start from Dec 26.