PTI retains NA seat in Rajanpur by-polls

PTI retains NA seat in Rajanpur by-polls

Rajanpur (Staff Report/Agencies): PTI’s candidate Sardar Mohsin Khan Leghari on Sunday won the by-election for Rajanpur’s NA-193 constituency, says unofficial results.

Leghari bagged 90,392 votes, while his rival, PML-N’s Ammar Awais Leghari, managed to fetch 55,218 votes.

The third position went to PPP’s Sardar Akhtar Hasan Gorchani with 20,074 votes, followed by Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP) Mehmood Ahmed with 3,961.

The seat fell vacant after the death of Sardar Mohammad Jaffar Khan Leghari who was elected as MNA on a PTI ticket.

Earlier in the day, polling began at 8am and continued without a break till 5pm. Meanwhile, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) allowed the voters present inside polling stations to cast their votes beyond the 5pm deadline.