2018 Polls: PTI leading on NA seats as ECP declares provisional results

2018 Polls: PTI leading on NA seats as ECP declares provisional results

Islamabad (Staff Report): Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is leading the NA tally as Election Commission of Pakistan announced provisional results of 261 out of 270 National Assembly (NA) seats.

According to the results, PTI is leading the NA tally with 115 National Assembly seats.

The results show that Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is leading in 62 constituencies and PPP got victory in 43 constituencies of the National Assembly.

The number of National Assembly (NA) seats won by the other parties is as above: Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) 12, Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) 5, Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) 6, Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) 2, Awami Muslim League (AML) 1, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaniat 1, Awami National Party (ANP) 1 and Balochistan National Party (BNP) 1. So far, there are a total of 12 independents in the NA as well.

The ECP also declared the result of seats won by the political parties in the provinces.

Punjab: The results show that PML-N is leading in 127 constituencies of Punjab Assembly followed by PTI with 122 seats and 29 constituencies won by independent candidates. The number of seats won by other parties is: Pakistan Muslim League-Q 7, Pakistan Peoples Party 6 and the PML-Functional, Balochistan Awami Party and Pakistan Awami Raj one each.

Sindh: Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) is leading with 74 seats in Sindh Assembly followed by PTI 22 and MQM -P 16, GDA 11, TPL.2 and MMA got 1 seat while an independent candidate also won.

Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa: In Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (KP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is leading in 66 constituencies of KPK followed by MMA 10, ANP 6, Independent 5, PML-N 5 and PPP got victory in four constituencies respectively.

Balochistan: In Balochistan, the ECP has declared results of 46 Balochistan Assembly seats out of its total of 50.

Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) is leading in 13 constituencies followed by MMA with 8 seats. Balochistan National Party grabbed 5 seats, PTI 4, ANP 3, HDP, 2, BNP-A 3, JMQ 1, PKMAP 1 and PML-N 1.

General elections were held across the country on July 25.

Over 12,570 candidates were in the run for seats of National and four provincial assemblies.

Against the National Assembly's seats, about 3,675 candidates were in the electoral race whereas about 8,895 for the provincial legislatures of all four provinces.

According to the data shared by the ECP, 1,696 candidates are vying for the National Assembly's constituencies from Punjab and 4,242 for the provincial legislature.

From Sindh, 872 were contesting for the National Assembly seats and 2,382 for the provincial assembly.

Total contesting candidates for the National Assembly from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are 760 and 1,264 for the provincial assembly.

For Baluchistan’s National Assembly seats, there were a total of 303 candidates and 1,007 for its provincial assembly seats.

In Islamabad, 76 candidates are in the race for three seats of National Assembly.

According to the electoral rolls, 105.96 million voters were eligible to cast the vote.