APC rejects poll results, demands re-election

APC rejects poll results, demands re-election

Islamabad (Staff Report): Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) on Friday held an All Parties Conference (APC) to discuss alleged rigging during the polling on July 25.

PML-N president Shehbaz and JUI-F chief Fazalur Rehman chaired the meeting. Both the leaders spoke to the media after presiding over the APC.

Addressing the press conference after the meeting, MMA chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman said many candidates were robbed of their mandate in the election.

He added that the APC has rejected the victory in the polls as the elections were rigged.

Fazl remarked that people who think they have won fairly should know that they have no real power.

“We have sacrificed so much for democracy to prosper in the country, he said.

The MMA chief that said the elected candidates of the parties whose leaders attended the MPC will not take oath.

He further said that they will organise protest demonstrations in different parts of the country till elections are held again.

Maulana Fazlur Rehman said that the parties which didn't attend the APC, would be contacted once again and asked to be a part of their struggle.

PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif said he has requested to be allowed to consult his party over the decision of the APC. He said

The politicians who attended the gathering included Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) chief Senator Sirajul Haq, Sindh Governor Mohammad Zubair, Gilgit-Baltistan Chief Minister Hafeezur Rehman, Azad Jammu and Kashmir Prime Minister Raja Farooq Haider, Awami National Party chief Asfandyar Wali Khan, Qaumi Watan Party chairman Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao, National Party's Senator Mir Hasil Bizenjo, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party chairman Mehmood Khan Achakzai and several MMA leaders.

PML-N leaders Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Ayaz Sadiq, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Chaudhry Tanveer and Khurram Dastagir and Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) leaders Mustafa Kamal, Raza Haroon and Waseem Ahmed also participated.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM-P) leader Dr Farooq Sattar also attended the meeting despite the boycott of the party.

Earlier, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) rejected the election results and announced to call All Parties Conference (APC).

Maulana Fazlur Rehman while talking to media along with other MMA leaders on Thursday, alleged that his voters were stopped from casting votes and issuance of Farm 45 was delayed.

The MMA chief blamed that the public mandate was stolen and the real representatives of the people were deprived of their vote bank.

He said that the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) rejects the election results and demands not only the re-election in one or two but all constituencies across the whole country.

On Thursday, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) rejected results of 2018 elections, claiming that the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) failed to hold free and fair elections.

Addressing a press conference along with other leaders, PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif alleged that cases were registered against the party workers under terrorism sections.

PML-N spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb also raised objections over the counting process and alleged that the party’s agents were being forced out from the polling stations in various constituencies.

It is pertinent to mention that Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has emerged as the single largest Party in the National Assembly and it is going to form the next government at the Centre.

According to Election Commission, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf has so far secured 116 seats in the National Assembly followed by PML (N) 64, PPP 43, independents 14, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal 12, MQM 06, Pakistan Muslim League 05 and 02 each by Balochistan National Party and the Grand Democratic Alliance.