Islamabad (Staff Report): Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi on Tuesday reconstituted the Economic Advisory Council (EAC) led by former finance minister Shaukat Tarin .

According to a notification, Tarin , who had served as finance minister, will head the council. The EAC will advise the government on economic policies.

The 13-member committee includes notables such as banking and financial sector specialist Atif Bajwa, United Bank Limited CEO Sima Kamil, Habib Bank Chairman Sultan Ali Allana, Lahore University of Management Science Professor Dr Ali Cheema, Arib Habib, Fawad Anwar and Asif Riaz.

The council includes Supreme Court advocate Salman Akram Raja and agricultural policy specialist Muhammad Tasneem.

Two members who were a part of the previous EAC are included in the new council, Abid Hassan and Dr Abdul Qayyum Sulehri.