Islamabad (Staff Report): The submission of nomination papers for by-elections on vacant National Assembly and provincial assembly seats began from Tuesday, August 28 and will continue till August 30.

According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), by-elections will be held on October 14.

An initial list of the candidates will be issued on August 31.

The nomination papers filed in the ECP will be reviewed until September 4. Another list of candidates will be issued on September 14 following the review.

Candidates will be able to withdraw their nominations till September 15.

The ECP further stated that the final list of the candidates will be released on September 16, complete with their respective electoral symbols.

By-elections are set to take place on 11 NA and 26 provincial assembly seats lying vacant.

The National Assembly seats where by-elections will be held include NA-35, NA-53, NA-60, NA-63, NA-65, NA-69, NA-103, NA-124, NA-131 and NA-243.

The provincial assembly constituencies where the by-elections will take place include Punjab Assembly seats PP-3, PP-27, PP-87, PP-103, PP-118, PP-164, PP-165, PP-201, PP-222, PP-261, PP-272, PP-292 and PP-296.

The constituencies in Sindh where the by-elections is scheduled include PS-30 and PS-87 will hold by-elections.

The constituencies where the by-polls will be held in Balochistan include PB-35 and PB-40.

Moreover, in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa by-elections will be held on PK-3, PK-7, PK-44, PK-53, PK-61, PK-64, PK-78, PK-97 and PK-99.