Voting for 2nd phase of local bodies elections in KP's 18 districts held

Voting for 2nd phase of local bodies elections in KP's 18 districts held

Peshawar (Web Desk): Polling for the second phase of local bodies’ election in 18 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) began at 8am on Thursday and continued till 5pm without any break.

A total of 6176 polling stations had been set up for local government elections.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had declared 1,646 polling stations as the most sensitive while 2,326 as sensitive.

According to the ECP, a total of 28,020 candidates are contesting for different seats in Abbottabad, Mansehra, Battagram, Torghar, Kohistan Upper, Kohistan Lower, Kolai Palas Kohistan, Swat, Malakand, Shangla, Lower Dir, Upper Dir, Chitral Upper, Chitral Lower, Kurram, Orakzai, North Waziristan and South Waziristan.

A total of 651 candidates are in the run for city mayor and tehsil chairman seats, more than 12,000 for general seats of village and neighbourhood councils while 2,668 candidates are in the race for women seats.

As per ECP, a total of 8.057 million voters will cast their vote in the second phase.

Meanwhile, over 54,000 officials have been deployed for the security including police and Frontier Constabulary troops.

An emergency control-room has also been established in Chief Minister Secretariat Peshawar for holding of the peaceful second phase of local bodies election in eighteen districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.