Covid-19: UK puts Pakistan at red list, bans from 9 April

pakistan, red, list, bans, april, neo tv, covid, uk

London (Web Desk): Britain on Friday announced to add Bangladesh, Kenya, Pakistan and the Philippines to its travel “red list”, imposing ban entry to people arriving from these countries.

“Important travel update: Flag of Pakistan will be added to the Flag of United Kingdom’s red list of travel ban countries from 9 April,” British High Commissioner Christian Turner made the announcement on Twitter.

The commissioner said passengers seeking to travel to the UK from Pakistan will have to pay for a mandatory quarantine stay at a hotel in the UK.

The measures will come into effect from April 9, 4:00am. The commissioner said direct flights between both countries will continue to operate as usual.

The number of confirmed COVID-19 cases in Pakistan rose to 678,165 on Friday after 5,234 new coronavirus cases surfaced in the country during the last 24 hours.

Overall 265,917 cases were confirmed in Sindh, 225,953 in Punjab, 89,255 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 19,610 in Balochistan, 59,401 in Islamabad 5,045 in Gilgit-Baltistan (GB) and 12,984 in Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK).

According to the government's COVID-19 portal, the death toll related to coronavirus has reached to 14,613 with 83 fatalities reported during the last 24 hours.

Over the last twenty four hours, total number of recovered COVID-19 patients across the country reached 607,205 after another 1,931 virus recoveries were reported.