Asia Cup 2023: India set 357-run target for Pakistan in rain-hit Super 4 match

Asia Cup 2023: India set 357-run target for Pakistan in rain-hit Super 4 match

Colombo (Web Desk): India on Monday set 357-run target for Pakistan in the rain-hit Super Four stage Asia Cup 2023 match in Colombo.

The high-voltage clash between the archrivals resumed today as the game could not be completed on Sunday due to the rain that started in the afternoon.

According to the playing conditions, the match resumed from the same point today with no overs lost.

On reserve day India's innings resumed with 147 runs for 2 wickets in 24.1 overs.
Virat Kohli with 8 runs and KL Rahul were at the crease for 17 runs off 28 balls.

India finished on 356-2 in their allotted 50 overs as Pakistan remained wicketless on the reserve day.

Rahul and Kohli started cautiously but accelerated after 30 overs. Pakistan were one bowler short as Haris Rauf picked up a side strain on Sunday and did not take the field.

Indian batters took full advantage of the situation and kept attacking Pakistani bowlers, not allowing the spinners to bowl and then overcoming a slowdown in the middle.

Both Kohli and Rahul got to their hundreds in less than run a ball and finished the innings with 122 and 111 not out, respectively.

None of the Pakistani bowlers could take any wicket and both Kohli and Rahul continued scoring runs at brisk speed and hitting boundaries at will.

Earlier on Sunday, Pakistan won the toss and decided to bowl first against India in the thrilling clash.

After being asked to bat first, the Indian opener put their side on top with 121 runs partnership in quick time.

From 121 for no loss, India slipped to 123/2 in a space of two over which brought Pakistan back into the game.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul put on 22 runs together to steady the ship when the rains stopped play.

Skipper Rohit Sharma scored 58 of 52 balls while other opener Shubman Gill scored 56 runs after facing 49 balls.

Shadab Khan and Haris Rauf bagged one wicket each.

Green shirts announced playing XI a day before the match and India had come up with two changes in the squad that played last match against Nepal.


Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj