Governor Kamran Tessori dissolves Sindh Assembly on CM's advice

Governor Kamran Tessori dissolves Sindh Assembly on CM's advice

Karachi (Web Desk): Sindh Governor Kamran Tessori dissolved Sindh Assembly on the advice of Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah.

Earlier, the Chief Minister met with Kamran Tessori and submitted a summary to dissolve the provincial assembly, which was signed by the governor.

The Sindh governor signed the summary under Article 112(1) of the Constitution, which empowered him to dissolve the provincial assembly within 48 hours if advised by the chief minister.

Following the meeting, a notification was issued by the Sindh Law, Parliamentary Affairs and Criminal Prosecution Department that read: "As advised by the chief minister and in exercise of powers conferred upon me under clause (1) of Article 112 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, and other provisions enabling me in this behalf, I, Muhammad Kamran Khan Tessori, governor of Sindh, hereby dissolve the Provincial Assembly of Sindh on Friday, the 11th day of August, at 9pm.”

Like the National Assembly, the provincial assembly that held its inaugural sessions on Aug 13, 2018, following the election on July 25 was set to expire on Saturday, Aug 12.

As per the Constitution, if the assembly completes its term, the next general election will be held in 60 days. But if the term is not completed, even by a single day, the elections will be held in 90 days.

After the dissolution of the PA, the Sindh cabinet has also been dissolved while CM Murad will continue holding his post till a caretaker successor is not appointed.

Syed Murad Ali Shah will serve as CM till appointment of a Caretaker Chief Minister.

Meanwhile, Sindh Assembly Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani will hold his position until the newly-elected lawmakers take an oath and elect his replacement.

For the formation of a caretaker government, the chief minister will write to the leader of the opposition in the Sindh Assembly, within 48 hours of the dissolution of the assembly, seeking three names for the caretaker chief minister and will suggest three names himself.

If a deadlock between the two leaders lasts for three days, then the speaker will form a committee comprising six members of the outgoing assembly with equal representation from the treasury and the opposition.

To the committee, the CM and the leader of the opposition will forward two nominees each.

The committee will have three days to reach consensus on one name. If that fails as well then the names of the nominees will be referred to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) for a final decision within two days.