Polling underway for Senate by-election on 6 vacant seats

Polling underway for Senate by-election on 6 vacant seats

Islamabad (Web Desk): Polling for by-elections on six vacant Senate seats is underway at National Assembly (NA) as well as at Sindh and Balochistan assemblies.

The polling is being held on one vacant seat in Islamabad, two General Seats from Sindh while three vacant seats from Balochistan.

At National Assembly, Islamabad, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Yousaf Raza Gilani and Sunni Ittehad Council's (SIC) candidate Chaudhary Ilyas Mehrban are in the race for the seat.

In the Sindh Assembly, two seats had fallen vacant due to the resignation of Nisar Ahmed Khuhro and Jam Mehtab Dahar of the PPP.

PPP has fielded Jam Saifullah Khan Dharejo and Muhammad Aslam Abro against Nazeerullah and Shazia Sohail of the SIC.

In Balochistan, three seats fell vacant due to resignation of Sarfraz Ahmed Bugti, Prince Ahmad Umar Ahmadzai of Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) and Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) while seven candidates are vying for the election.

The voting is underway in the provincial legislature.

These candidates vying for the seats are Abdul Shakoor Khan (JUI-F backed), Abdul Quddus Bizenjo (PPP), Kauda Babar (BAP), Muhammad Mobeen Khilji (BAP), Mir Hair Bayar Khan Domki (Independent), Syed Mahmood Shah (Independent), and Mir Dostain Khan Domki (PML-N).