Vote count underway on by-election for 6 Senate seats

Vote count underway on by-election for 6 Senate seats

Islamabad (Web Desk): Polling for by-elections on six vacant Senate seats from Sindh Balochistan and Islamabad ended and the vote counting is underway.

The polling, held in the National, Sindh and Balochistan Assemblies, which began at 9am and ended at 4pm.

At National Assembly, Islamabad, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Yousaf Raza Gilani and Sunni Ittehad Council's (SIC) candidate Chaudhary Ilyas Mehrban are in the race for the seat.

In the Sindh Assembly, two seats had fallen vacant due to the resignation of Nisar Ahmed Khuhro and Jam Mehtab Dahar of the PPP.

PPP has fielded Jam Saifullah Khan Dharejo and Muhammad Aslam Abro against Nazeerullah and Shazia Sohail of the SIC.

In Sindh, 124 votes were cast during the polling held to fill two vacant general seats in the upper house.

In Balochistan, three seats fell vacant due to resignation of Sarfraz Ahmed Bugti, Prince Ahmad Umar Ahmadzai of Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) and Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) while seven candidates were vying for the election.

Those contesting the election included, Abdul Shakoor Khan (JUI-F backed), Abdul Quddus Bizenjo (PPP), Kauda Babar (BAP), Muhammad Mobeen Khilji (BAP), Mir Hair Bayar Khan Domki (Independent), Syed Mahmood Shah (Independent), and Mir Dostain Khan Domki (PML-N).

In the Balochistan Assembly 61 votes were cast for the three general seats of the Senate from the province.