Asia Cup 2023: Sri Lanka defeat Pakistan in nail biting match to reach finals

Asia Cup 2023: Sri Lanka defeat Pakistan in nail biting match to reach finals

Colombo (Web Desk): Sri Lanka won by two wickets in a last ball thrilling match against Pakistan on Thursday in Colombo, Sri Lanka, to reach finals of Asia Cup 2023. 

The final of the Asia Cup 2023 will now be played between Sri Lanka and India on Saturday, September 17 in Colombo.

Pakistan won the toss, chose to bat first and scored 252 runs with loss of seven wick in limited 42 overs.

Sri Lanka chased a DLS revised target of 252 runs in the 42 overs. With Kusal Mendis 91 runs and Charith Asalanka’s match winning 49 runs, Sri Lanka achieved the target in last over, with Asalanka's winning hit on the last ball.

The match at one point during the last overs was in favour of the Green shirts, as Shaheen Shah Afridi took two wickets in two balls in the second last over

Also, the first four balls from Zaman Khan giving away just two runs and a wicket in the last (42nd) over.

But, left-handed Asalanka held his nerve till the end and win the match by hitting a winning shot on the second last ball after an outside edge took the ball to the boundary line.

Mendis and Sadeera Samarawickrama who made 48, set the Lankan tigers to victory stand with their third-wicket 100-run partnership, but Asalanka took it on himself after their departure.

Samarawickrama could have his half century score but remain two runs away before he feel to Iftikhar Ahmed. 

From Pakistan’s side, Iftikhar remain highest wicket taker and delivered for his side with both bat and ball and took three important and timely wickets but his heroic performance went in vain.

Shaheen took 2 wickets and Shadab could only contribute one wicket.

While batting first, Pakistan posted 252 runs on the scoreboard thanks to Mohammad Rizwan and Iftikhar combining forces at 6th wicket for their side with 108-run partnership. 

Rizwan played an unbeaten 86 off 73 with nine boundaries, Iftikhar also manage to knock 47 runs before get bowled by Matheesa Pathirana.

While Abdullah Shafique scored his maiden ODI half-century and was the second top-scorer for the Green Shirts. 

From Sri Lanka side, Pathirana took three wickets, Pramod Madushan got two wickets. Maheesh Theekshana and Dunith Wellalage took one wicket each. 

Earlier, the match was reduced to 45 overs and then 42 due to rain. 

For his magnificent 91 run performance, Mendis was awarded Player of the match.  

Playing Squads

Pakistan: Mohammad Haris, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan (wkt), Abdullah Shafique, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan (vice-capt), Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Wasim, Zaman Khan

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wkt), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana 

Futhermore, Pakistan cricket team will leave Sri Lanka today to return home after concluding their Asia Cup tour. Captain Babar Azam, Shaheen,  Rizwan, Iftikhar and Saud Shakeel will leave for their respective cities via Dubai this evening.