Seven MNAs banned from entering National Assembly for 'disorderly conduct'

Seven MNAs banned from entering National Assembly for 'disorderly conduct'

Islamabad (Web Desk): Speaker National Assembly (NA) Asad Qaiser on Wednesday barred entry of seven lawmakers into the Parliament House over ‘grossly disorderly’ conduct.

According to the notification issued by the NA speaker, the seven members banned from entering the House include Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Ali Nawaz Awan, Abdul Majeed Khan, and Fahim Khan, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Sheikh Rohail Asghar, Ali Gohar Khan and Chaudhry Hamid Hameed and Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Agha Rafiullah.

The action from NA Speaker comes after his meeting with Prime Minister Imran Khan during which they discussed the recent rumpus.

A separate statement issued by the NA Secretariat said that the ban on the MNAs would last until further orders. "The NA Secretariat has issued instructions to the concerned MNAs and to the assembly security," it said.

On Tuesday, the National Assembly turned into a battleground as the opposition and treasury members scuffled with each other and threw budget documents and books when the latter continued their noisy protest to disrupt Leader of the Opposition Shehbaz Sharif's budget speech for a second consecutive day.

The Speaker suspended the proceedings of the House three times when the treasury members, led by some of the senior ministers who had come directly to the House after attending the weekly cabinet meeting, refused to pay heed to his directives to stay calm and kept on sloganeering, whistling and desk-thumping.

 Shehbaz, who was surrounded by his party members to avoid any physical contact with the treasury MNAs, also continued his speech.

Meanwhile, PTI MNA Maleeka Bokhari, who serves as Parliamentary Secretary for Law and Justice, and a member of the security staff were injured as the two sides were tossing budget books at each other.