PTI’s Usman Buzdar elected Punjab CM

PTI’s Usman Buzdar elected Punjab CM

Lahore (Staff Report): Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Sardar Usman Buzdar has been elected as new Chief Minister of Punjab.

As per details, members of the Punjab Assembly voted for the next Chief Minister on Sunday (today). PTI candidate secured 186 votes, while his opponent PML-N Hamza Shahbaz secured 159 votes.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) did not cast vote for CM slot. Chairman Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Najam Sethi’s wife Jugnu Mohsin, who won election on July 25 as independent candidate cast her vote to Sardar Usman Buzdar.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has nominated Hamza Shehbaz, son of party’s president Shehbaz Sharif, for the CM slot, while the PTI has nominated Sardar Usman Buzdar for the post of CM.

Usman Buzdar belongs to the tribal area of Barthi in Dera Ghazi Khan. He had won the election from PP-286 Taunsa Sharif, Dera Ghazi Khan securing 26,897 votes.

He had been a member of Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) from 2002-2008 and later joined Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

During Musharraf regime, he remained district Nazim of Taunsa. Usman’s father Fatah Muhammad Buzdar is a chief of Buzdar tribe and was elected thrice as Member of National Assembly (MNA).

Buzdar also contested the election in 2013 on Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).ticket but was defeated by Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) candidate.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) stated it would not vote for any party's candidate and would abstain from the polling for the post of CM.

Earlier, PTI’s ally Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi of Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) was elected speaker of the Punjab Assembly.

Elahi secured 201 votes, while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Chaudhry Muhammad Iqbal Gujjar got 147 votes.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had nominated PML-Q leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi for the slot of Punjab Assembly speaker and Dost Muhammad Mazari for the post of Deputy Speaker respectively.