Pakistan beat New Zealand by 4 wickets in third T20I

Pakistan beat New Zealand by 4 wickets in third T20I

Napier (Web Desk): Pakistan defeated New Zealand by four wickets in the third and final Twenty20 International (T20I) at the McLean Park, Napier on Tuesday.

Pakistan captain Shadab Khan won the toss and opted to bowl first.

The New Zealanders finished their innings at 173 for seven after losing the toss and being asked to bat, with Devon Conway top-scoring on 63.

Chasing down New Zealand’s target, Pakistan scored 177 in 19.4 overs. Mohammad Rizwan hit match-winning 89 off 59.

Rizwan was backed by Mohammad Hafeez’s 41 while Khushdil Shah scroed 13 runs.

Faheem Ashraf was the lead wicket-taker with three wickets while Shaheen Afridi and Haris Rauf got two each.

For today’s match, Pakistan made three changes in the playing XI. Abdullah Shafique, Imad Wasim and Wahab Riaz were left out while Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed and Mohammad Hasnain were selected.

The Green Shirts had lost both the games by five and nine wickets respectively.


Pakistan: Haider Ali, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Hussain Talat, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Hasnain, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tim Seifert (wk), Kane Williamson (capt), Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Kyle Jamieson, Ish Sodhi, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Trent Boult