Third T20I: Pakistan beat Bangladesh in last-ball thriller to win the series 3-0

Third T20I: Pakistan beat Bangladesh in last-ball thriller to win the series 3-0

Dhaka (Web Desk): Pakistan defeated Bangladesh by five wickets in the third and final Twenty 20 International (T20I) in Dhaka on Monday.

Mohammad Rizwan (40) and Haider Ali (45) played tremendously, but Bangladesh did not give up, as they mounted pressure in the death overs.

Bangladesh's Mahmudullah dismissed Sarfaraz Ahmed (6), Haider Ali (45), and Iftikhar Ahmed (6) in the last over, when Pakistan needed just eight runs off six balls.

On the last ball, Pakistan needed two runs to beat Bangladesh and Mohammad Nawaz did not disappoint, as he hit a boundary to help the Green Shirts clean sweep the series.

Earlier, winning the toss and opting to bat first, Bangladesh set 125-run target for Pakistan to win the last match of the series.

The Bengal Tigers got off to a poor start, losing left-handed batsman Shanto in the second over. Shamim Hossain scored 22 off 23 balls but he too was sent packing by Usman Qadir.

Opener Mohammad Naim and Afif Hossain managed to get 43 runs for the third wicket but it came off 42 balls.

Pakistan's young sensation Shahnawaz Dhani took the first player in his first International Twenty20.

Pakistan included Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shahnawaz Dahani, Iftikhar Ahmed and Usman Qadir in the third T20.

The match was also the T20I debut for Shahnawaz Dahani. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) posted a video of him receiving his debut cap from Sarfaraz Ahmed.

The Green Shirts, 2-0 up, will be comfortable heading into today's match but skipper Babar Azam will be looking to continue the side's winning momentum.


Pakistan: 1 Babar Azam (capt), 2 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 3 Haider Ali, 4 Sarfaraz Ahmed, 5 Khushdil Shah, 6 Iftikhar Ahmed, 7 Mohammad Nawaz, 8 Mohammad Wasim Jr, 9 Usman Qadir, 10 Haris Rauf, 11 Shahnawz Dahani

Bangladesh: 1 Mohammad Naim, 2 Shamim Hossain, 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Afif Hossain, 5 Mahmudullah (capt), 6 Nurul Hasan (wk), 7 Mahedi Hasan, 8 Aminul Islam, 9 Shohidul Islam, 10 Taskin Ahmed, 11 Nasum Ahmed