LHC directs ECP to notify PTI members on Punjab Assembly reserved seats

LHC directs ECP to notify PTI members on Punjab Assembly reserved seats

Lahore (Web Desk): The Lahore High Court (LHC) on Monday directed the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to notify the members on the Punjab Assembly's reserved seats that fell vacant following the de-seating of 25 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers over defection.

The PTI had moved the LHC against the ECP’s decision deferring the issuance of a notification on the reserved assembly seats till the by-elections on 20 vacant seats.

The decision was announced by the LHC today after hearing all arguments of relevant stakeholders.

After the LHC order, five reserved seats will be allocated to the PTI which will increase their number in the provincial legislature.

Last month, 25 PTI dissident lawmakers, which included five elected on seats reserved for women and minorities, were de-seated for voting in favour of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz's (PML-N) Hamza Shehbaz during the election for Punjab chief minister.

The ECP de-notified them on May 23.

In its petition on May 28, the PTI had requested the LHC to direct the electoral watchdog to notify the five new MPAs and "summon [them] personally". Subsequently, the high court had given the ECP a deadline for June 2 to decide the matter.

The commission had, however, decided that the notification would be stayed until by-elections were held in the province on July 17.