PML-N's Moazzam Sher Kallu wins PP-84 Khushab by-election

PML-N's Moazzam Sher Kallu wins PP-84 Khushab by-election

Khushab (Web Desk): Malik Moazzam Sher Kallu of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has won the by-election for Punjab Assembly constituency, PP-84 Khushab.

According to unofficial results, Moazzam Sher bagged 73,081 votes, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Ali Hussain Baloch came second, with 62,903 votes. Kallu’s margin of victory is 10,178 votes.

The seat fell vacant after the death of PML-N MPA Malik Muhammad Waris Kallu.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), a total of 8 candidates were vying for the seat including Malik Moazzam Sher Kallu of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Ali Hussain Khan Baloch of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Ghulam Habib Ahmed of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Amjad Raza, Aurangzeb, Imran Haider Khan and Mohammad Ilyas Khan as independent candidates and Hafiz Muhammad Asghar Ali of the recently banned Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP).

The total number of registered voters in the constituency is 292,687, including 155,104 male 137,583 female votes.

A total of 229 polling stations have been set-up in the constituency including 27 for male, 26 for female and 176 joint.

About 43 polling stations had been declared sensitive whereas about 14 polling stations have been declared highly sensitive with respect to security concerns and 172 normal.

More than 2,800 police and 500 Rangers personnel had been deployed in the constituency for the polling day.

Winning candidate Malik Moazzam Kallu took to Twitter to thanks the people of his constituency.

"Thank you, people of Khushab from the bottom of my heart," he wrote.

Meanwhile, PML-N President and Opposition Leader in National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif while celebrating the win tweeted that the people had rejected the "flour and sugar thieves".

"This is also an acknowledgment by the people of the service rendered by the PML-N during its tenure. And this vote is for the development of Pakistan under the leadership of Nawaz Sharif!"

He added that if the PML-N got the opportunity again then it would "serve Pakistan with more passion than before".

PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz also congratulated and thanked the people of Khushab for victoy in the by-election.

The victory of the PML-N candidate is the victory of Nawaz Sharif’s narrative, she claimed.